The Hill of Crosses / Palanga – Highlights
The Hill of Crosses
The Hill of Crosses is a unique sacral place, amazing and the only one of its size and history in the world.Nowhere else in the world you will find such a place – where so many crosses are brought by people on the hill, embraced by legends, and fables. Currently, the hill has over 100 thousand crosses dug in the ground, large and small, and a huge number of holy statues and paintings with rosaries on them. Tourists who come to this place say that the hill attracts them with its tranquillity, spirituality, and the authentic and sacred presence. The cross making craft is one of the most unique Lithuanian crafts, included in the UNESCO Intangible Cultural Heritage List. Traditional Lithuanian crosses are unique masterpieces of architecture, blacksmith, sculpture and painting.
The Cold War exposition. Plokštinė nuclear missile launch site was the top secret Soviet structure where 4 medium range missiles were housed. These missiles, together with the nearby terrestrial platforms of analogue missile launching, had created a common Soviet nuclear armament group in Lithuania, which was able to destroy all the Europe. After 12 years of operation the site was shut down and later abandoned. Now this unusual place is open for visitors.
Palanga (pop. 16 000) is the country’s largest seaside resort town with nickname “Summer capital”. Visitors are able to have a great rest on marvelous white sand beaches or to relax in the city where many entertainments are available.
Palanga Amber Museum is established in the estate of count Feliksas Tiškevičius in beautiful surroundings by botanical gardens. The exposition of amber includes more than 4500 exhibits, what is more, visitors are able to get aquainted with the the formation, processing, practical application, and morphological variations of amber. The estate, designed by German architect Franc Schwechten (1841-1924), was built in 1897.